New nomination cycle for the Global Energy Prize opens on 1st December
Премия VG5_2876
The Global Energy Association launches a new nomination cycle on 1st December for awarding the annual Global Energy Prize. Nominations will be accepted on the association’s official site from 1st December 2020 until 20th March 2021.

    The prize competition is open to academics from any country, authors of outstanding scientific research and developments whose discovery and technological innovation are able to help solve the most challenging energy problems.

    The prize has been awarded since 2019 in three categories: Traditional (Conventional) Energy, Non-Traditional (Non-Conventional) Energy and New Ways of Energy Application The nomination process – from proposing a candidate to selecting the prize winners — is completely open and transparent. Candidates are not permitted to nominate themselves.

    After specific work projects are accepted for the competition, the association proceeds with an independent expert assessment. Each entry is evaluated by three independent international experts according to accepted international standards. 

    After the assessments are completed, the points awarded to each entry are calculated and a rating is assigned to the presentations of all nominees.

    A short list is then drawn up and the final decision is made by the International Award Committee on the Global Energy Prize, made up of 20 academics from 14 counties.

    The process of selecting the laureates has received top-level world recognition. The IREG Observatory (International Ranking Expert Group) has recognised the prize as one of the top 99 prestigious and significant international awards.

    In 2020, 78 academics from 20 countries were nominated in the competition. That compared to 39 nominations from 12 countries for the Global Energy Prize in 2019. The nominations were fairly evenly divided among the three categories – 29 for non-traditional energy, 27 in the traditional energy category and 22 for new ways of using energy.    

    From the 78 candidates, experts selected a short list of 15 entries. These included leading academics from Australia, China, Denmark Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan and the United States. Five competitors took part in each category. 

   The winners for this year were Carlo Rubbia from Italy, Peidong Yang from the United States and Nikolaos Hatziargyriou from Greece.  

    Since 2003, the prize has been awarded to 42 scientists from 15 countries: Australia, Austria, Britain, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and the United States.


Share on facebook
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on reddit

Add comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Russian scientists developed new method for breaking oil-water emulsions

The scientists from the V.I. Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) developed a new method for breaking field oil-water emulsions into water and oil without specialised chemical agents. It helps to receive feedstock for downstream refining or for sales. The research outcomes are published in the Journal of Petroleum Science and Engineering.

read more ...


November 2020