The Global Energy Prize short list announced
Image (1)

The Global Energy Association has established its short list of candidates for the prize of the same name. Featured on the list are 15 academics from six countries – Denmark, China, Germany, Russia, Saudi Arabia and the United States.

The announcement of the short list completes the second stage of the current nomination cycle. In the first stage, the association received 94 exceptional applications – more than in 2020 (78) and in 2019 (39).

The long list was made up of representatives of 36 countries compared to 20 on the 2020 list and 12 in 2019.

In the second stage all nominations were examined by independent experts who assessed them according to specific criteria, including their “newness” and their scientific and practical value.

In each of the categories – conventional energy, non-conventional energy, new ways of energy application – five candidates were identified for achieving the highest number of points. They make up the short list.

“The nomination cycle for the 2020-2021 Global Energy Prize was truly global: there were nominations from 36 countries, and not just from the developed United States and Europe, but also from Asia, Africa, Latin America and the Middle East,” said Nobel laureate Rae Kwon Chung, head of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee.

“I feel happy and proud that the shortisted candidates are highly qualified and well represent the most up to date scientific innovations of our time.”

The winners will be determined at a closed session of the International Award Committee to take place in Kazan on 30th August. The names of the laureates will be announced in Kazan at the end of August – September.

We now present the list of nominees for the Global Energy 2021 Prize.

Conventional Energy

Sunil Kokal (Saudi Arabia) Principal scientist, EXPEC Advanced Research Center Saudi Aramco: For research experience in sustainability and enhanced oil recovery.

Amit Goyal (United States) Founding Director, SUNY Distinguished Professor & SUNY Empire Innovation Professor and RENEW Institute, University of New York at Buffalo: For ground-breaking research that had a major and transformational impact on the field of high-temperature superconducting (HTS) materials.

Zinfer Ismagilov (Russia) Institute of Coal Chemistry and Material Science, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences: For his contribution to the field of carbon chemistry, chemistry of carbon materials and heterogeneous catalysis.

Leo Lorenz (Germany) Executive Technology Advisor, Infineon Technologies AG: For introducing advanced energy-efficient technology based on power electronics to achieve sustainable reductions in C02 emissions to limit global warming.

Zhijun Jin (China) Dean of the Institute of Energy, Peking University: For fundamental research and exploration with focus on the hydrocarbon accumulation mechanism, hybrid hydrocarbon generation from organic-inorganic interaction, the evaluation method of oil and gas resources, deep marine carbonate sequence of oil and gas, marine shale gas and the China-Russia crude oil pipeline.

Non-conventional Energy

Suleyman Allakhverdiev (Russia) – Head of the Controlled Photosynthesis Laboratory, L.A. Timirzayev Institute of Plant Physiology: For an outstanding contribution to the development of alternative energy, phenomenal scientific achievements of artificial systems for alternative energy, a cycle of scientific works in the field of bioenergy and hydrogen energy, for the promotion of the efficiency and environmental safety of energy sources.

Arthur Ragauskas (United States) – Governor’s Chair for Biorefining, University of Tennessee, Knoxville: For his educational excellence that resulted in technical leaders who are implementing the change to renewable energies based on non-food biomass.

Turhan Veziroglu (United States) – Founder, International Association for the Hydrogen Economy (IAHE): For an outstanding contribution to the research and development of the concept of hydrogen energy, which contributed to the development of this industry in many countries.

Zhong Lin Wang (United States) – Director, Centre for Nanostructure Chartacterization, Georgia Institute of Technology: For the invention of triboelectric nanogenerators, for self-powered sensors, Internet of things, robotics, artificial intelligence and large-scale blue energy harvesting.

Ib Chorkendorff (Denmark) – Director VILLUM Centre for the Science of Sustainable Fuels and Chemicals: For setting out the fundamental aspects of catalytic processes, including steam reforming, methanol synthesis and ammonia synthesis.

New ways of energy application

Yi Cui (United States) – Director, Precourt Institute for Energy, Stanford University: For exceptional contributions in nanomaterials design, synthesis and characterization for energy and the environment, particularly for transformational innovations in battery science and technology.

Ruzhu Wang (China) – Director, Institute of Refrigeration and Cryogenics, Shanghai Jiao Tong University: For innovation, application and commercialisation of high efficiency heat pumps and rational use of low-grade thermal energy for heating and cooling.

Mikhail Predtechensky (Russia) – Member of the academic board, C.C. Kutateladze Institute of Thermal Physics, Siberian Branch, Russian Academy of Sciences: For the development of the scientific basis of single-walled nanotubes, industrial implementation in various materials, including applications in electrochemical power sources, increasing the energy efficiency of many materials and reducing their effect on climate.

Reinhard Radermacher (United States) – Director, Centre for Environmental Energy Engineering, University of Maryland, College Park: For his leadership in innovation of vapour compression systems to improve energy efficiency and sustainability, his work on alternative refrigerants and non-vapour compression cooling technologies and design of cooling, heating and power systems for buildings.

Omar Yaghi (United States) – Founding director, Berkeley Global Science Institute, University of California, Berkeley: For his pioneering work on ultra-high hydrogen and methane storage, carbon dioxide capture and conversion.


Share on facebook
Share on telegram
Share on email
Share on twitter
Share on vk
Share on odnoklassniki
Share on reddit

Add comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

India to build the world’s largest floating solar power plant

Indian electricity company Rewa Ultra Mega Solar Limited (RUMSL) will build the world’s largest floating solar power plant (SPP), which will be of 600 MW capacity, The Economic Times reports. The project, which is estimated to be worth ₹3,000 crores ($468 million) will be implemented at the Omkareshwar reservoir located in Madhya Pradesh state, central India.

read more ...

Wind generator with recyclable blades

German renewable energy producer RWE has commissioned the wind turbines equipped with recyclable blades, as part of the 342-MW Kaskasi offshore wind farm located in the North Sea. The initiative can make an important contribution to recycling solution for used wind generators.

read more ...

Ship to be powered by solid hydrogen

As the Recharge News, an industry publication says, the world’s first ship to be powered by solid hydrogen will be launched in a port in Amsterdam in June 2023. The ship was named Neo Orbis, from the Latin Neo (new) and the ancient Greek Orbis (world), will be built by the Dutch Next Generation Shipyards supported by the European program H2Ships.

read more ...


July 2021