Select Language



In the 17 years since its foundation, the Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 39 scientists and researchers around the world who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in their field. The laureates come from nine different countries, including 13 countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the UK, the USA. 

Zhores Alferov (Russia)

A pioneer in semiconductor electronics for domestic power based on germanium transistors and power devices, and with over five hundred scientific papers to his credit, he was awarded the prize for research and practical contribution to creation of semi-conductor energy converters for use in solar and electrical energy applications.


Klaus Riedle (Austria)

An expert in the field of gas-turbine power and responsible for the development of a generation of highly efficient gas turbines, he was awarded the prize for the creation of new high-power gas turbines for combined-cycle steam and gas power plants.


Developed by Brickwall