Select Language



In the 17 years since its foundation, the Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 42 scientists and researchers around the world who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in their field. The laureates come from 15 countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, the UK, the USA.

Geoffrey Hewitt (UK)

Geoffrey Hewitt was born in 1934 in Warrington, England. In 1957 he graduated from Manchester University.

During the period from 1957 to 1990 he headed the Department of Heat Exchange and Hydrodynamics in Harwell Laboratory. Since 1990 he was carried out teaching and research activity in the sphere of hydrodynamics and heat exchange within two-phase flows in the King’s College of London. In 1999 he became an Honored Professor.

Geoffrey Hewitt is the Member of the Royal Society of Great Britain, European Academy of Sciences and Arts and of a number of other international organizations. He was also the President of UK Heat Transfer Society. Hewitt is the author of famous monograph «Introduction to Nuclear Power».

In 2007 Hewitt was awarded with the Global Energy International Prize. For this Prize his work, developing idea of fuel generation on the basis of water power, was nominated.

Scientific activities

  • Carried out research in the filed of hydrodynamics and heat exchange in two-phase streams.
  • Suggested an idea of fuel production on the basis of water energy.

Learn more about outstanding achievements of Geoffrey Hewitt in the book “The Global Energy Prize: tribute to those who changed the world”.

Developed by Brickwall