Select Language

In 2017, the Global Energy Prize celebrates its 15th anniversary! This term is small from a historical point of view, but over these years a long way was passed. Over 15 years of the award’s existence, more than 736 candidates were nominated, and 35 outstanding scientists from 11 countries became its laureates. The number of experts with the right to nominate for the award has increased 10 times compared to 2003 - it is 3000 people, and the number of countries united by the Global Energy Prize has increased 12-fold - today it is 90 states. The Global Energy Prize is constantly developing, its importance for the innovative development of world energy can not be overestimated. In its jubilee year, the prize accepts congratulations from its founders, partners, friends and colleagues. The team of the Global Energy Prize expresses gratitude to all the congratulations for sincere and kind words to the project! 

I congratulate You on the 15th anniversary of the Global Energy Prize initiation. During this time, it became one of the most prestigious international awards. The Prize unites more than 300 scientists from 90 countries of the world. These are talented, outstanding researches and qualified specialists in the field of energy. From year to year the Global Energy Prize strengthens its authority, and the ceremony of its presentation is notable for unique atmosphere of openness, creation and partnership.

Today, the sustainable growth of the world economy is closely connected with reliable provision of energy security. This affects the economic successes of states and people’s life quality on the planet. And Russia – as one of the guarantors of energy security – is aware of its special role.

I am confident, that the Global Energy Prize will continue to promote the development of theoretical and applied scientific researches and inventions in energy, and also international public recognition concerning the role of individual scientists and research groups.

I wish You and all specialists working in the field of energy, new discoveries and new great results.

Chief executive officer of PJSC OC Rosneft

I.I. Sechin


Developed by Brickwall