Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

THE GEP INVITES TO THE PRESS CONFERENCE "Global Energy Trends of the 21st Century"

“The Global XXI Century Energy Trends” Press Conference will be held in the Press Centre (Media work area), on June 1, 2017, at 14:30.

In a framework of the press conference, world-renowned scientists and laureates of the Global Energy Prize will talk about innovative projects and scientific developments in the field of energy; assess current energy trends and forecasts for the industry in 2017. The vision of the future of the industry will be presented by:

Rodney John Allam (UK) – Chairman of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee, Contributor to the reports of the IPCC, which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007;

Adnan Amin (AE), Director General of International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA),  of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee member;

Michael Graetzel (CH) - Laureate of the 2017 Global Energy Prize, Professor at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lusanne, Director of the laboratory for Photonics and Interfaces;

Rae Kwon Chung (KR) - Advisor to the Chair of High-Level Expert and Leaders Panel (Help) on water and disasters, Former Principal Advisor on climate change to the Secretary-General of the UN, Contributor to the reports of the IPCC, which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007

Alexander Shokhin (Russia) - President of the Russian Union of Industrialists and Entrepreneurs, Chairman of the Global Energy Association Board of Trustees.

Igor Lobovsky (Russia), President of the Global Energy Association, will moderate the press conference.

Recall that Michael Graetzel is an ultimate leader in the field of renewable sources of energy, in particular - solar power industry. In the XV, anniversary cycle of the Global Energy Prize, he was chosen the best «for transcendent merits in development of low cost and efficient solar cells, known as “Graetzel cells”, aimed to creation of cost-efficient, large-scale engineering solutions for power generation».

Michael Graetzel became world famous for the development of dye sensitized solar cells which were named as Graetzel cells in his honor. They operate on the principles of photosynthesis– the process similar to biochemical one and used by plants for light energy conversion. The invention represents profitable alternative for expensive and sophisticated technologies of photovoltaic arrays produced on the basis of silicon of high purity. In addition, Graetzel cell-based batteries are more convenient for consumer compared to silicon-based photocells – they could be made flexible and in various colors. Such solar cells are able to generate electric power within various bands of light frequencies, up to infrared one. It is convenient for use and power generation, for instance, in various structural elements of buildings. Photovoltaics technologies integrated in buildings are in great demand by the market.

The Global Energy Prize Award Ceremony will be held at Saint Petersburg International Economic Forum on June 2, 2017 at 13:00 (CEC “Expoforum”, pavilion F, hall F 1.1). The President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin or a person on his behalf will present the award.

The Global Energy Prize is an independent award for outstanding scientific research and technological development in energy, which contribute to efficiency and environmentally friendly energy sources for the benefit of humanity. Since 2003, The Global Energy Prize has been awarded to 35 Laureates from 11 countries: the UK, Germany, Iceland, Canada, Russia, USA, Ukraine, France, Sweden, Switzerland and Japan. The final choice of Laureates is decided by the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee, which consists of 20 respected scientists from 13 countries. The list of those eligible to nominate a scientist for the Prize consists of more than 3000 scientists from 90 countries.

According to the President of the Russian Federation Vladimir Putin, "this prestigious award has reached a high level of international recognition, and its laureates are outstanding scientists from many countries of the world - talented, dedicated, committed people. Their fundamental works and developments have made a unique contribution to the development of modern scientific thought and have become a real breakthrough in solving the most important problems of energy efficiency and energy conservation".

Additional information and accreditation:
Natalia Naumova
The Global Energy Association
+7 (916) 446 66 10, e-mail:

Developed by Brickwall