Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

The 2019 Global Energy Prize laureates will be announced on May 30

On May, 30 the 2019 Global Energy Prize laureates` names will be announced at the TASS press center. The Prize annually recognizes outstanding scientific researches and developments in the field of energy, which help all mankind in solving the most acute energy problems. Since this year the Prize is given in three nominations “traditional energy”, “non-traditional energy” and “new ways of energy application”.

The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee will determinate the laureates at the end of May. Now the stuff of committee includes 20 outstanding experts from 14 countries. According to the new stuff, the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee`s Chairman is Rae Kwon Chung, UN Secretary-General’s High-level Expert and Leaders Panel (HELP) on water and disasters, Adviser to the Chair. Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. He will sum up the XVII nomination cycle at the press conference. This year 39 scientists representing 12 countries fight for the title of laureates.

Traditionally the 2019 laureates will know a good news at the event, when the officials of the Prize congratulate them on the phone call. Journalists will be able not only to hear the "emotional" reaction of the laureates, but also to ask them their first questions.
In addition, Rodney John Allam, the 2012 Global Energy Prize laureate, partner of 8 Rivers Capital, LLC, member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007 will assess the trends of the world energy system and the role of the laureates in the development of advanced energy technologies.

Acting President of the Global Energy Association Alexander Ignatov will open the press conference. He will tell about key activities and prospects of the Association.

Recall that the heads of companies – members of the Association are also invited to the event. They are Director General of PJSC “Surgutneftegaz” Vladimir Bogdanov; Chairman of the Board, PJSC Gazprom Alexey Miller; Chairman of the Management Board of FGC UES Andrey Murov and Chairman of the Global Energy Association’s Board of Trustees, Vice-Chairman of the World Energy Council Oleg Budargin.

The press-conference will be held on May, 30 at 11.00 at the address: press center of the TASS (the second floor), 2, Tverskoy blvd, Moscow.

Developed by Brickwall