Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

Meeting of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee

On October 2, as part of the Global Energy Prize Laureates’ Week, a meeting of the International Award Committee was hold, chaired by Rae Kwon Chung. The agenda of the meeting included a discussion of the  information strategy of the Association and issues of organizing summits. Also during the meeting, the participants indicated the date of the next meeting, at which the laureates of 2020 will be selected.

The meeting of the Global Energy Prize Award Committee was opened with a welcoming speech by Chairman Rae Kwon Chung, Adviser to the Chair. Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007.

The first topic on the agenda was the discussion of the Global Energy Prize Summit in Beijing in 2020. Pavel Korolev, Vice President for Development and Projects of the Global Energy Association, noted that in September 2019, the association signed a cooperation agreement with China Petroleum University, in which the parties agreed to hold a summit at the University on April 27-28, 2020. The participants of the meeting considered possible topics for the upcoming summit, and approved the composition of the program committee, which included: Rodney John Allam, Stephen Griffiths, Dominique Fache, Marta Bonifert, William Byun, Xiansheng Sun, Adnan Amin, Yuriy Petrenya, Nikolay Voropai, Frederick Bordry.

The meeting participants also discussed plans for organizing the Summit in 2021. It was suggested that the United States will be considered as a potential country for the event.

The key item on the agenda of the meeting was the setting of the date of the meeting of the International Committee on the selection of winners of the Global Energy Prize 2020. As a result, it was decided to hold a meeting on June 2, 2020 in St. Petersburg.

In addition to the main issues on the agenda, the participants discussed the possibilities of expanding the expert pool, the information policy strategy, and prospects of cooperation with leading international industry structures and educational institutions.

The meeting was attended by 14 members of the International Award Committee: Adnan Amin, Director General Emeritus of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA); Nikolay Kudryavtsev, Rector at Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology; Dietrich Moeller, Professor, Doctor of technical sciences; Lecturer at MIIT; Former President of Siemens Russia; Dominique Fache, Member of the Board of Directors of Technopark Sofia-Antipolis; Chairman of the Board of Directors of RTF; An independent director; Marta Bonifert, Hungarian Business Leaders Forum (HBLF), Board Member, Sustainability Work Stream Leader; Nikolay Voropai, Scientific Adviser of Melentiev Energy Systems Institute; Corresponding Member of The Russian Academy of Sciences; Yuriy Petrenya,  Director General of PJSC Power Machines; Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences; Professor, Corresponding Member of The Russian Academy of Sciences: Nikolay Rogalev, Rector of Moscow Power Engineering Institute (MPEI); Rodney Johm Allam, former Partner of 8 Rivers Capital, LLC; Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007: Steven Griffiths, Senior Vice President for Research and Development, Khalifa University of Science and Technology (KUST); Xiansheng Sun, Secretary General of the International Energy Forum (IEF); Tomas Blees, President of the Science Council for Global Initiatives (SCGI); William Byun, Managing Director at Asia Renewables; Head of Greenpower Fuels, and Principal at Conchubar Infrastructure Fund; Frederick Bordry, The CERN Director of Accelerators and Technology

Developed by Brickwall