Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

The stuff of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee renewed

The Global Energy Association has rotated and approved a new membership of the International Award Committee. Thus, the new stuff of the International Award Committee was formed by 20 well-known scientists from 14 countries. British scientist Rodney Allam as Chairman of the International Award Committee was replaced by Rae Kwon Chung, UN Secretary-General`s High-level Expert and Leaders Panel (HELP) on water and disasters, Adviser to the Chair; Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007.

According to the Statute, the Global Energy Association forms and approves new members of the International Award Committee once every four years. It may include heads of authoritative scientific organizations, prominent scientists who have achieved international recognition in the field of energy, government and public figures. The International Award Committee makes the final decision to determine the Global Energy Prize laureates among the nominees of the current year.

The new members of the International Award Committee became such prominent figures as Dietrich Moeller, Vice-President of "Siemens" in Russia, Francesco Profumo, President of Italian National Research Council (CNR), Nikolay Rogalev, Rector of Moscow Power Engineering Institute (MPEI), Xiansheng Sun, Secretary General of the International Energy Forum (IEF), Nobuo Tanaka, Chairman of the Sasakawa Peace Foundation, Dominique Fache, Chairman of the Board of Directors of RTF, an independent director.


Developed by Brickwall