Select Language



The Global Energy Prize annually honors outstanding achievements in energy research and technology from around the world that are helping address the world’s various and pressing energy challenges.

Will the ‘Energy of future’ save the world?

Since the year 2003, 37 scientists from 12 countries: Australia, Austria, Great Britain, Iceland, Canada, Russia, the USA, Ukraine, France, Switzerland, Sweden and Japan became winners of the Global Energy Prize. This year, the winners are Professor Frede Blobjerg (Denmark) "For outstanding technical contribution to the development of an intelligent management system for the widespread use of renewable energy sources" and Dr. Halil Amin (USA) "For contribution to the development of efficient energy storage technology." The award ceremony will be held in October 2019 as part of the Russian Energy Week forum.

During a press conference on the announcement of the winners of the Global Energy Prize in 2019, Alexander Ignatov, head of the Global Energy Association noted that the past year was the year of the transformation and development a long-term strategy. Speaking about the role of the laureates in the development of advanced energy technologies, he emphasized that the innovations of the nominees help in solving various energy problems, such as energy efficient building standards, energy storage technologies, methods for prospecting, exploration, development of hydrocarbon deposits, the use of peaceful atom, LED lighting, solar panels and catalysts.


Developed by Brickwall