The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee

Rae Kwon Chung
(South Korea)

The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee Chairman. Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007, Professor Emeritus at Institute of Convergence, Science and Technology of Incheon National University

Adnan Amin

Senior Researcher of Harvard University, Director General Emeritus of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA)

Thomas Albert Blees

President of the Science Council for Global Initiatives (SCGI)

Marta Szigeti Bonifert (Hungary)

Vice President, Institute of Directors Hungary (IoD), Member of the global advisory board of Tokyo University

Frederick Bordry (Switzerland)

Director for Accelerators and Technology of European Council for Nuclear Research (CERN)

William Il Young Byun (Singapore)

Managing Director at Asia Renewables, Head of Greenpower Fuels, and Principal at Conchubar Infrastructure Fund, Independent Director at the International Green Technologies and Investment Projects Center

Dmitri Bessarabov
(South Africa)

Director at HySA Infrastructure Competence Center, Professor

Nobuo Tanaka

Chair, the Steering Committee of Innovation for Cool Earth Forum (ICEF), CEO, Tanaka Global, In., Special Adviser, the Sasakwa Peace Foundation

Steven Griffiths

Senior Vice President, Research and Development Professor of Practice Khalifa University of Science and Technology

Vasiliy Bogoyavlenskiy

Supervisor of the Geoecology Department, Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas

Yury Petrenya

Chair of the Energy and Electric Engineering, Peter the Great St. Petersburg Polytechnic University

Rachid Yazami

Founding Director & CTO at KVI Holdings

Valery Stennikov

Director of the Melentiev Energy Systems Institute of Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Corresponding Member of RAS, Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor

Nikolay Rogalev

Rector of Moscow Power Engineering Institute (MPEI)

Leena Srivastava

Deputy Director General – Science at International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)

Liye Xiao

Director of Applied Superconductivity Laboratory, Cas Director Of Interdisciplinary Research Center Institute of Electrical Engineering, Cas

Russian scientists propose new diagnostics method for wellbore casings in oil wells

Scientists from Perm Federal Research Center of the Ural Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (PFRC UB RAS) and Loughborough University (UK) have developed a new method for inspecting wellbore casings in oil wells that has the potential to streamline the fault detection procedure. The results of the study will be published in the journal Geophysics issued by the Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

read more ...

Hydropower plants provided for half of growth of RES capacity in Africa

Africa facilitated the commissioning of hydro power plants based on the renewable energy sources (RES): in 2021, the incremental RES capacity in the region made 2.2 GW, and in 2022 – 2.7 GW according to the newly published annual review by IRENA. Almost half of this growth – a bit less than 1.3 GW – was provided by hydro power plants (HPPs), the remaining 1.4 GW fall on the solar panels (1 GW), wind generators (0.3 GW) and geothermal units (0.1 GW).

read more ...


March 2023